Millennium Development Goals

In September 2000, the Millennium Summit was held in New York City. At the summit, representatives of 189 States signed the Millennium Declaration. This declaration includes eight goals related to the eradication of poverty, universal primary education, gender equality, infant mortality, maternal mortality, the spread of HIV/AIDS and the sustainability of the environment.

The Goals now represent the main development agenda. Organizations including the various United Nations agencies, international credit institutions, NGOs and official cooperation agencies are focusing their work on the achievement of the MDGs by 2015.

If the Mesoamerican countries have the funds, policy priorities and suitable technical support, they will be able to reach the health-related Millennium Development Goals in poor communities and present quantifiable results.

The Initiative will contribute to reaching some of the Millennium Goals:

  1. Goal 1: eradicate extreme poverty and hunger, reducing by half the percentage of persons with income of under one dollar per day,
  2. Goal 4: reduce the mortality of children under five years of age, with the aim of reducing infant mortality by two thirds, and,
  3. Goal 5: improve maternal health, with the aim of reducing maternal mortality by three quarters and achieve universal access to reproductive health.

Objetivos de Desarrollo del Milenio

Carlos Slim
Health Institute
international cooperation
Bill & Melinda Gates
Development Bank
We advance in the hand with:

Hello, Welcome to the IDB!

Please join our mailing list by simply entering your email below.